Call for Entries! Idaho Author and North American Book Awards

Screen Shot 2014-10-17 at 2.54.41 PM
It’s that time of year again: Yes, time to enter the Idaho Author Awards!

Only this year, there’s a bit of a twist. They’ve extended it to the entire country. That means that any author can enter who has published a book in the past 3-5 years (see details below).

But hurry! Entries must be received by October 20 for the Idaho Author Awards and October 27 for the North American Book Awards.

See more details below, and visit the Author Awards website for official rules and to enter.

I’ll be MCing this year’s event and can’t wait to find out the winners. I always end up walking away from this event with a much longer to-read list.

Good luck!


Idaho Author Awards Call for Entries

Deadline: October 20, 2014

The Idaho Author Awards is calling for Entries for books written by Idaho authors or published by an Idaho publisher between January 1, 2011 and October 20, 2014. The contest in its fourth year highlights the work of outstanding Idaho authors.

Past Top Ten and category winners include: Alan Heathcock, Nathan Barry, Larry C. Johnson, Judith Steele, Joanne Pence, Donna Cook, Robin Lee Hatcher, Peter Leavell, Elaine Ambrose, Ray Ellis, Rebecca Carey Lyles, Jacob Norby, Chris White, Angela Young DC, and Corey Smith.

Internationally acclaimed Boise author, Anthony Doerr’s international phenomenal book, All the Light We Cannot See, currently on the 21st week on the New York Times Best Seller list, has been nominated in the Top Ten and Fiction categories.

The Idaho Author Awards contest is coordinated by The Idaho Book Extravaganza. Entries may be submitted at or

Winners will be judged in the following categories:

Top 10 Books (Nonfiction/Fiction), Best Cover Design (Nonfiction/Fiction), Best eBooks (Nonfiction/Fiction), Editor’s Choice, Autobiographies, Biographies, and Memoirs, Business, Children’s (Nonfiction/Fiction), General Fiction, Health and Wellness, Inspirational, General Nonfiction, Mystery, and YA.

For more information on the Idaho Author Awards, contact or media contact, Maryanna Young, 208.447.9036.

North American Book Awards Call for Entries

Deadline: October 27, 2014

The North American Book Awards, presented by Friesens, is in its debut year in 2014. Entries are accepted through Monday, October 27, 2014. Entries are accepted at or  Anyone who is an author, publisher, or reader within North America is eligible to enter or nominate a book for the North American Book Awards.

The North American Book Awards is coordinated by The Idaho Book Extravaganza, in cooperation with partner organizations across North America. They must have a copyright date between 2009, and Dec. 31, 2014, and an International Standard Book Number (ISBN).

2014 Results will be announced at on November 5, 5PM. Winners will be notified via email and Award Certificates will be mailed.

Winners will be judged in the following categories:

Animals/Pets, Autobiographies, Biographies, and Memoirs, Best Cover Design (Nonfiction/Fiction), Business, Children’s Educational, Children’s General (Nonfiction/Fiction), Cookbooks, eBooks (Nonfiction/Fiction), Editor’s Choice (Nonfiction/Fiction), Fantasy, Faith Based, Fiction of varying genres, Health and Wellness, Humor, Inspirational, Military, Mystery, Nonfiction, General, Parenting and Family, Self Help, Sports, Travel, Young Adult

Friesens Corporation, located in Manitoba, is North America’s premier book, yearbook and packaging manufacturer, providing publishers, self-publishers, institutions, businesses and schools with quality, in-house services at their 250,000 sq. ft. state of the-art production facility.

For more information on the North American Book Awards, contact or media contact, Maryanna Young, 208.447.9036.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.